Monday, November 3, 2008
Update
So: are we ready to spend a few weekends doing improv again, or shall we put the site in mothballs until after the end of the year? You tell me!
Friday, October 3, 2008
Welcome back
With few people, we've concentrated more on running exercises than full-fledged games. The exercise of choice has been Storytime! and we've come up with some doozies. Come on folks, join the fun!
Here's another idea for an exercise, something we can do online if you're inclined: briefly describe a situation and challenge others to come up with a nice one-liner to wrap up the scene. Here, I'll do an example:
A cop is walking down the sidewalk when a man wearing nothing but pants runs out of a building.
Give me one line! One possible answer is:
The cop says, "Buddy, you should've bet the rest of your clothes, you never know when your luck is going to turn."
Or:
The half-naked man says, "Officer, I'd like to get something off my chest."
What do you think? Hmmmmm?
Tuesday, September 16, 2008
New warm-ups, show opportunity
What do you think? Let us know; meanwhile I look forward to seeing you very soon.
Wednesday, August 20, 2008
08/30 and 08/31 Joey D Showcase
Also, we are going to try to start warm-ups officially after Labor Day. The library will be open on the weekends. I hope to hear from you.
Ashley
Monday, August 11, 2008
Hiatus
Many have asked, when will the next warm-up be? I've told some of you directly but finally I'm blogging it: the next warm-up will not take place until after school starts.
More news as it comes...
Tuesday, July 15, 2008
Next Warm-Up
Ashley
Monday, July 7, 2008
Next Practice
The next practice is July 12th at 11:00 am at the Firehouse Theater. We will go until 1:30 pm. Hope to see you all there. If anything comes up, call or email myself or Scott.
Ashley
Open Showcase Opportunity
Joey D is planning a show on July 26th at 7:00 pm at the Firehouse Theater and is looking for improv people to be his opening act. This will be open to both Improvysteria and Evolution Improv. Think of this as a learning experience to learn from the others. Joey D did give myself and Scott creative control of the opening act so if we meet before the show we can decide what games to play. I'm assuming this will be a parent friendly show. More info to come.
Ashley
Tuesday, June 24, 2008
Some Game Time!
Jeannette is having a lock-in on 06/27 and she is asking if people from the improv groups can do some games. Yes, you will be inner-mixed with Evolution, but think of this as a learning experience. So, is anyone interested? Let me know before then okay? I believe start time is a 6 pm.
Tuesday, June 17, 2008
Calendar
Hope to see everyone later--
Scott
Sunday, June 15, 2008
Post Eaglemania
Also, I believe Scott set up a practice on June 17th at the library near the Firehouse. I hope to see you all there.
Tuesday, May 27, 2008
Next warm-up, showcase opportunity
I got a call from a former actor's parent tonight, telling me a little about a neighborhood festival called Eaglemania. It's hosted by St. Jude Church, next to Parkview, and occurs on June 13th.
(Those in the know may say, "DUH! That's your church!" Bear with me.)
Apparently there will be a talent show at the festival, but the organizers are a little light on acts. So, I was asked, would I be interested in helping to provide a little something?
So, improv'ers: would you be interested in providing a sample of Improvysteria? Please let me know.
Wednesday, May 21, 2008
Good news, bad news
The Firehouse might be open for our use during the day May 31st, or early evening June 1st. IIRC our creative director cannot be there on May 31st, but if there is enough demand, and she's okay with it, the rest of us might meet.
More good news: I checked in at the local library to see when we might use their big conference room, and many afternoons look good during the summer. Take a look at their schedule here -- Tuesday afternoons look free, shall I mark some of them down?
That's about all I have for now, but I should mention the fabulous work members did promoting Improvysteria for the audiences of The Spoiled Baloney Man. (I know, he's my son, but never have I heard anyone use a soliloquy from Hamlet as a put-down!) Kudos as well to the audience last weekend for staying for improv, even after the fire alarm went off.
If you think of a good time to meet earlier than June 1st, please tell us! I look forward to working with you all again ASAP... and Happy Summer!
Monday, May 19, 2008
The Last Spoiled Baloney Man Show.....
That's all I really have to say. Keep checking this place for updates on what's going on.
Ashley
Monday, May 5, 2008
News
The cast of Spoiled Baloney includes four improv'ers, all of whom represented the group for Friday night's performance; they were joined by two more on Sunday. All did a fine job. Of Saturday's show, I especially appreciated that paragon of action heroes, the Overachiever, and the short romance that ended with a hanging. Of Sunday's show, I appreciated the fact that I was able to see any part of it at all... I barely caught the end!
I still need to know who is willing to perform with Spoiled Baloney this coming weekend. You know who you are!! Let me know please.
Saturday, May 3, 2008
Next warm-up...
A comment would be very nice! Thanks!
-Courtney
Friday, April 25, 2008
Constructive criticisms
Regarding What Are You Doing?:
"Try harder to make use of the verb and the noun and not just wave your arms saying the verb over and over... get in the habit of calculating your alphabet letter while standing in line so you can select funnier words for the next victim in line." I know, this is difficult when you have a really good idea for G and then someone gets eliminated in front of you...
Regarding Superheroes:
"Too often the superhero name just doesn't suggest what their power is." It's a good idea to find a descriptive superhero name -- for instance, I can work with "Static Man" a lot better than with "Big Fat Ugly Man." (Regardless of how accurate you may find it...)
Regarding hosting:
"Use situations kids are familiar with: family, school, vacations, kid-oriented businesses, social situations. When they have a good situation those kids can be reaaally funny." Not so much with material that only an adult would know about.
Regarding improv in general:
"I don't think it is cheating to have a list of funny words, situations, rhymes and structures in the back pocket of your mind." I agree, as long as you don't work out an entire bit days in advance... that's not improv, that's sketch comedy.
Looking forward to the warm-up on Sunday at 1 PM... I will call around tomorrow to make sure people are okay with the time.
Tuesday, April 22, 2008
A somewhat embarrassing note...
Some members of Improvysteria have had their differences in the past. I am proud to say that each has found a way to work with the other members professionally and without resentment. Kudos to you! You impress us.
Please keep up the considerate behavior: hurt feelings aren't funny, and don't help the group.
Now I'm verklempt... have some more coffee and talk amongst yourselves...
Upcoming dates
Time for a warm-up! Jeannette says the Firehouse will be available Sunday afternoon 4/27... how does 1 - 4 PM sound? We could easily push it back to 2 - 5 or 3 - 6. We could shorten it if necessary, but I think the group will benefit from a nice long practice after so many short ones. Please let me know which time seems best.
"The Spoiled Baloney Man" opens May 3rd; Improvysteria will provide an opening act. Only a portion of the group will be needed for each show; I would appreciate knowing what dates you'd like to perform. Shows are May 3 and May 10 at 7 PM, and May 4 and May 11 at 3 PM.
Friday May 23rd is the tentative date for the next show. How's that date look for everyone?
Monday, April 21, 2008
Nice work
One gentleman told us he'd like to join up, so I invited him to the next warm-up. He was our contestant in the Dating Game and did improv in college, so the games are all familiar to him. He said he looks forward to working with us... I'd tell you his name, but then I'd have to kill you.
Will Sunday afternoon work for everyone? I know at least one person it will not, but please post a reply to let us know.
Sunday, April 20, 2008
4/19 show
Anyways, all that to say, the people who showed up to the show yesterday did great. Those people would be Tyler, Candace, Rebekah, Paul, Dennis, and myself. We also had a special guest during Good News, Bad News: Red Chaos herself! Unfortunately, she injured herself, and wasn't able to participate in the show. She was still a good sport, though, and we look forward to the next show she can be a part of.
For those of you who missed the show, we had a good round of What Are You Doing?; the finalists for that were Emily, Paul, and Dennis. New Choice, What Could Go Wrong?, Genre, and Eulogy all went well, also. Props was as memorable as always... however, I can't tell you what the prop was, since I still haven't figured out what that would be yet. >.> Our victor was me (Courtney), with Paul being a VERY close second. Everyone put forth a valiant effort!
We also played Superheroes. Ahh, the joys it brings. We had two rounds, the first one being quite funny, with Paul being our evil villain. Bubble Woman (me), Mispronunciation Man (Tyler), and Crepe Lady (Emily) were able to defeat the devious Nutritious Breakfast Man, and bring eggs back into our lives.
In round two, I started out as Stinky Janitor Woman. I called upon the help of the Pregnant Man (Paul), who in turn called on Whale Lady (Emily). Whale Lady brought forth Tyler; however, he did NOT play a villain, but a superhero! Who was our true villain, then? They united to turn the tables around, which forced me to reveal my true evil intentions. It was entirely unexpected, but still highly enjoyable.
As a closer, Ashley brought up Scott, Tyler, Joey D., Paul, and myself to do a few games with Evolution Improv. Among the games played were Moving People, the Dating Game (which featured Andy, who later complimented the group), Press Conference, and as a special treat, Three-Headed Oracle. That segment went very well, and there were tons of laughs.
All in all, we had a great show, and I wish more of you could've been a part of it. As for the ones who were there, keep up the good work, and I can't wait to see you all at the next warm-up.
P.S., Sorry for posting this a little late; I had it in draft for a while. Well.....voila!
-Courtney
Thursday, April 17, 2008
Late poster
Grab a copy, print it a few times and post it wherever you can.
Wednesday, April 16, 2008
In regards to April 19th show....
Sorry this came late. This is being sent by e-mail, blogger, myspace, and whatever else I can use to reach you all. Joey D has just informed me that he is going to be recording the April 19th show. Not just his set, but all of ours. This taping of the show is going to be seen by some very important people that can get Joey D a big break. But this can also get us some recognition as well. But he has also expressed some concerns in regards to idle people on stage not playing any of the games being a bit unprofessional. What does that mean? It means doing commentary during the games about the performers, challenging the host's decision, and interrupting the host. This is a chance for a cross-promotional opportunity that can prove beneficial for both him and us. He is counting on you guys to be professional and behave.
If you guys do your best to behave I will make it up to you. On my mother's good name, I will. Please don't act up during the show. This not only goes for you guys, but for everyone else involved.
If you have any questions, comments, or concerns please call myself or Scott.
Monday, April 14, 2008
Getting ready...
Last warm-up was sparsely attended; I was unable to reach some of you by phone, and some have conflicts I know about. Please check the blog regularly for the next warm-up!!
Though attendance was small, we did some good work: we played a few rounds of Press Conference, ran through some oldies but goodies and even tried out Good/Bad/Worst for the first time in a while. Also our newest improv'er got roasted in Good News/Bad News.
The schedule for Saturday: meet at 5 PM, work for a while, break to eat, then prep the theater for the show. At 7, Joey D will open the show and perform some magic, then Improvysteria performs. Lastly, depending on the atmosphere, Evolution may play a couple of games. (Yay!)
Okay? Those of you who don't email, if you haven't gotten a phone message, call me or Ashley and we'll fill you in. I look forward to seeing you Saturday!
Friday, April 11, 2008
This may seem totally random, BUT...
Keep me posted, please!
Tuesday, April 8, 2008
Rank lunch meat
The dates and times for the shows are:
* April 26 @ 7 PM
* April 27 @ 3 PM
* May 3 @ 7 PM
* May 4 @ 3 PM
* May 10 @ 7 PM
* May 11 @ 3 PM
If you can help Jeannette pad out this show, I think you should. Plus... it can create all that much more buzz about Improvysteria™.
Any problems? Let us know!
Sunday, April 6, 2008
Guidelines for next show
One, the Three Warm-up Rule™ is in effect, except that we won't have three warm-ups before the next show; so please attend the next two warm-ups.
Warm-ups are next Sunday, April 13, 12:30 - 2:00 PM and a week from Saturday, April 19 at 5 PM (right before the show -- Ashley will not be there at 5 PM, I will run a few games until Ashley arrives).
Another item: idle improv'ers should not be chatting on stage while other improv'ers are performing!! This is unprofessional and does not help the group as a whole look good.
Finally: if the group continues to grow, it is entirely possible that not all improv'ers will perform. We want everyone to get as much stage time as possible, but that sometimes means that people do not get enough time to satisfy them. I don't think this is an issue for the coming show, but it MAY BE. Stay posted for updates!
Please tell Ash & me (here OR via email) what you think about these items, make suggestions if desired and/or criticize, we can take it.
(Well... actually I haven't been feeling very... strong, lately... :::sniff:::)
Oh, and one last note: would anyone's parents be willing to contribute a little time, in the way of helping us setup for the show, run snack bar etc.?
Friday, April 4, 2008
Theater games tonight
I called around to Improvysteria members, to see who can attend: the only definite no's are Tyfry and Tim. If you're coming, please arrive by 6 PM (if you can) so we can prep.
I recommended to Ash and JJ that we should not advertise this as an "official" Improvysteria show, although I think it should be mentioned that members of the group are taking part.
Hope to see you tonight!
Next show
I scheduled the group to perform at the Firehouse on the evening of Saturday, April 19. Any problems with that date? Please let me or Ashley know.
Improv principles galore!
I thought I'd put this up, since we're playing theater games today. Sorry, to those of you who can't come! We'll probably let you know on what you missed out on.
Also, these are things that seemed like good tips to me. On a few of them, I reiterated the point a little.
Please read these, and try to keep these in mind at our future warm-ups and performances.
Get into trouble. Go out on a limb without being sure you have a way to recover. The audience will love seeing you deal with the situation you've gotten yourself into. Do not play it "safe".
Scott has said to let them sweat multiple times, I believe. This sounds like it goes along those lines.
Dare to suck big! HA! That's my only comment!
Don't plan ahead. Give up your ideas when the scene doesn't progress as you'd hoped. Just respond moment by moment to what happens, without thinking of a goal that you want the scene to reach. Too often, I think, we see people plan to do something, and get totally hung up on that. The best scenes aren't planned, they're spur of the moment.
Experiment (in performance, not just in classes or practices). Do things on stage that you've never done before, without coordinating them in advance with others. Let yourself discover entirely new skills right during a scene. Discovering new skills is always a good thing!
Love everything unconditionally. Usually loving something rather than hating something leads the scene into genuinely unpredictable territory. Hating something usually just bogs things down. (An instance of making the Active Choice.) For example, if someone gives you cotton candy, you could hate it because you hate circuses, and spend the next five minutes bickering. Or you could love cotton candy, get a sugar high, and wander into a tent where you get sawn in half. I can think of a couple people who definitely need to take this one to heart. Besides....sugar highs rock! ^_^
If there is violence in the scene, act it out in slow motion. This is actually a safety tip, but it's often funny anyway. I say, let's try to avoid violence. However, if we do end up play-fighting....that would be so hilarious!!!!!!
Go with the obvious. This is always the first resort in improv. Often, what is obvious to you is not obvious to other people, but because it connects so naturally with the scene, the audience often perceives it as "brilliant". Intentionally being non-obvious usually just comes across as "forcing it" or "trying too hard". We want to look like it comes naturally, right? So let's be brilliant!
If someone asks you a yes-or-no question and you have no particular inspiration, just say yes and see where it leads. Saying no usually blocks action. Self-explanatory.
Do something original in every game that you have never done or seen before. BUT DON'T PLAN TO. If you feel like doing something, just do it. Don't be afraid of doing something that has never been done before. In fact, do what you think is least likely to happen. The audience will love it. Since when are we realistic, anyways? :P
Commit. Sell It. Put your line out there, make your choice, and let whatever happens happen. Never say a line tentatively, like you need audience approval. Let the audience decide what's funny, let the scene go where it goes. Let me reiterate those first two words again: COMMIT. SELL IT. (Oh, wait. That's 3 words.) That is SO important. Think of your favorite lines from improv warm-ups and performances...they were always said boldly, loudly, and confidently, which is part of what made it funny. Right?
Create Potential, don't just use it up. If all you do is use it up, you eventually run out of potential. So create more, so we don't have to be at a loss!
If you liked those, and want to see the rest of them (I just picked my favorites out), you can go to this website, which is where I found them:
http://greenlightwiki.com/improv/tips_and_techniques
Can't wait until the theater games start!
Sunday, March 30, 2008
Performance on 3/29
First of all, congratulations on a job well done yesterday! By the end of the night, my throat hurt from laughing so hard! Everyone has really improved from when we first started.
Also, there was no drama that occurred. If memory serves me correctly...that's the first show we've been able to accomplish that. I'm glad that people have been able to mature! (Yes, I know, I'm not always the most mature, either. Bear with me.)
Superheroes went fantastic both times. Putting Merillyn, Tyler, Tim, and Dennis on the stage together...that was priceless. ^_^ Everyone did a great job with that!
I've heard a few people say they enjoyed 'Good News, Bad News'. Is that going to become a regular game? I hope so!
Congratulations to Emily, who won 'What Are You Doing?'; and to Merillyn, who won 'Props'. You guys did great with that!
Kudos to Joey D. for a great opening act! Will he be joining us again in the future?
This is all I really have to say for now. In a nutshell.... that was the best performance I've seen from Improvysteria. Let's keep up the good work.
-Courtney
Wednesday, March 19, 2008
Next show date
The email is going out shortly, but meanwhile I'll tell you:
JJ is changing the schedule for her next show at the Firehouse, and she asked whether we might consider moving our show (now scheduled at 7 PM, Saturday March 29) to Friday, March 28.
I told her it depends on the participants. I dislike having to change, but it's her venue and her decision.
So: would Friday, March 28 at 7 PM work for you all? PLMK (please let me know).
Thursday, March 13, 2008
Next warm-up
So, my dilemma: call a warm-up for 12 to 1:30? Will some members be unable to arrive by noon because of church or other commitments?
Also, there are performances of the Lucky show at 3 PM and 5 PM on Sunday, so anyone involved with that show will face a LONG day at the Firehouse.
Sunday evening after the second show (circa 6:30-8 PM!) might be possible, but I am concerned about the lateness on a school night.
I would not be able to attend Sunday evening, as I must leave immediately after the show; therefore I will not be available for those who may need rides home.
So, what are your ideas folks? I look forward to your comments.
P.S. -- Keep in mind next week is the week before Easter! Many of us will be busy with family & other stuff, so a warm-up on a weeknight next week probably is a bad idea.
Friday, March 7, 2008
March 29th Show
1. The show date is March 29th. It will probably be 7:00 p.m. like most shows that we've done.
2. Depending on the size of available people would there be a split of people performing the first and second half? Who all would be available? I will e-mail this to you all and see. Plus, we will be having a meeting sometime soon I'm sure.
3. Would you also like to share the stage with Joey D again as a special guest?
I also has some other things to share with you all, but I will need to e-mail them to you all. Also I will see about making an improv archive to put games in that we can play, but don't need any explaining. Bye.
Saturday, March 1, 2008
Kudos
Briefly, I appreciate the fact that, though the show was rated "PG," no one went too far. (Although how did transvestism become a gag? Someone explain that to me!!)
It's a lot of fun playing on the edge, though, isn't it?
I look forward to our next warm-up.
Monday, February 25, 2008
Show date!
As you know, you are scheduled to appear at the Firehouse this Friday. I distributed posters via email, and on this blog (look to your left under "Upcoming Show"); stacks of papers will follow ASAP.
Get the word out please! I'd suuure like to see this show make money. (Not like I'll see any of it, but...)
Tuesday, February 5, 2008
Helping hands
FWIW, Jeannette did not arrive at the Firehouse on Friday due to weather, and she was late getting in on Saturday but said she saw no sign that anyone had come.
Here is the schedule as she told it to me:
Friday 3:20 - 5pm: Morgan, Daultin, Courtney, Rebekah
Saturday 10 - 12pm: Maggie, Emily, Paul
Sunday 12 - 2pm: Merillyn, Caitlyn
If this is not correct, can you let Jeannette know? If you came and didn't find her, will you tell Jeannette? If you need to reschedule, will you please inform Jeannette.
And please, PLEASE don't ignore your commitment... duh duh DUM!!!!
Improv principle #2
This is post #2 in a series of principles I thought might be useful... this one stolen directly from The Museum of Conceptual Art
2. Dare to be dull
State the obvious. Take the next logical step. If everyone tries to be too clever in a dozen different directions, it just causes a train wreck.
If you're creating a group story by having each person contribute one line, don't decide three lines in advance what you're going to say when it's your turn. When your turn comes, just say whatever the story needs, even if it's dull or doesn't match your previous idea of where you wanted the story to go.
Part of this involves realizing that the whole scene isn't resting on your shoulders. You just have to do your little part.
Monday, February 4, 2008
Improv principle #1
This is post #1 in a series of principles I thought might be useful, mostly taken from the Internet, perhaps with my own spin on it as well.
1. yes, AND...
If your partner in a scene says, "Look, it's a train," say, "Yes, and it's coming this way." Use what you are given and add to it. Don't try to push the scene toward your own pre-conceived ideas, or it will die a slow and ugly death. Listen to your partners, take what they offer and build on it.
Group Identity
Sunday, February 3, 2008
idk..
sorry i didn't make it to the warm up today.
didnt realize we had a warm up till a lil bit before it..and i didnt have a ride too or from.. and its super bowl sunday.. so yeaah
wht did i miss..any new games??..or important announcments??
plzz fill me in
love&&waffles
CAITY!
Saturday, February 2, 2008
New games (was: My creative spark....)
Friday, February 1, 2008
Blacklisted games
It's not Scott this time! OMG! ^_^
Well, this might just be me, but I have never seen a written list of blacklisted games. I know that there are quite a few games that we haven't played in a long time, but not all of them have officially been blacklisted. I have trouble keeping track of them, and I know others do, too. For example, Helping Hands, Mega Mix, Two-Line Vocabulary, and ABC Game have all been blacklisted. Legos and Eulogy have not, but it's still been a long time since we played them. There's also games that get confused in my mind. (In the lists, if I'm not positive if it's blacklisted or not, I'm going to put it under "DISCARDED". Please correct any mistakes I make!) I know there's been talk of trying blacklisted games again....but shouldn't we play the other "discarded", for lack of a better term, games also? Having said this, I'd like some feedback on the subject, and maybe the names of a couple other games. They've escaped me, especially because I wasn't there when Ashley originally named the first blacklisted games. Cheers, and I'll see you all at the next warm-up.
-Courtney
BLACKLISTED GAMES:
Helping Hands
Mega Mix
ABC Game
Two-Line Vocabulary
Questions Only
Television
Please add to this list, if you recall a game that has been neglected.
"DISCARDED" GAMES:
Legoes
Eulogy
What Could Go Wrong? (Seriously, when's the last time we played this?!?)
Good Advice, Bad Advice, Worst Advice
Dating Game
Flashback
This is all I have for now. Please add to the lists, and correct any mistakes I've made.
Tuesday, January 29, 2008
Changes, polls, logo
Contributors (or "members") now are listed right up under the logo; that way we can all see when a new person joins.
If you are not clear about how people get on the blog or have questions about privacy, here's the scoop:
- The blog is publicly viewable... think before you post!
- Member contributors join by invitation only. Casual surfers can not jump in with comments. (So email me!)
- Only an admin can invite new contributors.
- I'm the admin (for now).
Check out the polls and vote, please.
FYI, the new logo is just a quick effort on my part and certainly not intended to be permanent. There, permission granted to bash it all you want!
(Let me reiterate, in case anyone fears being blamed: blondieo is NOT responsible for that logo!!)
Cheers--

